Back, knees and heels

Just a short update today. My last blog post read like a bold manifesto for the fat and unfit party. It laid out in detail what happened last year and it ended with a declaration to get fit again and lose weight with some vague details of how I hoped to achieve that goal. Well, after posting that I woke up with bad pain in my lower back. Later that week I also had pain in my knees and my heels. That put me out for most of January and I didn’t get much done at all. Last week of the month I was able run walk a slow 5k and get on the turbo for 20 minutes which was positive. More positive was the weight loss which is going very well.

February has started well. In the first 4 days I have been on the turbo twice for a 30 min session, I have been to the bouldering wall and I have been using the kettlebells in the house. This coming week I am planning to run, turbo and go to the climbing wall.

Next weekend we head to the Lake District for a weeks holiday. I am hoping to have time to run and walk while we are down. The Coniston 14 is the last weekend of March. I am not sure that I will be ready for it but I will try my best to get fit enough to get round.

Leave a Reply

